- Tulare hospital to reopen Lindsay center with extended hours
- Loss of Giants affiliation leads Grizzlies closer to home
- Walgreens: Central Valley missed worst of flu season
- Bullet train no bonanza for Valley eminent domain attorneys
- Realtors: California housing market bounces back in February
- Green energy equals more ‘green’ for Tulare
Raizana Tea Co. Owner Sol Orozco packs a bag with Raizana's...
Fresno Police Chief Jerry Dyer speaks to the media with Deputy...
An estimated 500-600 people attended Thursday night's State of...
Sran Family Orchards of Kerman farms organic almonds and just...
Farm Labor Contractor class May 14 in Fresno
- Published on 05/13/2011 - 1:38 pm
- Written by Business Journal staff
AgSafe will host an eight-hour continuing education workshop to fulfill licensing requirements for Farm Labor Contractors on Saturday at the Fresno Convention Center, 848 M St. in downtown Fresno.
Topics to be covered include the state’s Agricultural Labor Relations Act, injury and illness prevention and Cal/OSHA safety regulations, federal and state wage and hour laws, workers compensation insurance, sexual harassment prevention and transportation and housing laws.
Amy Wolfe, executive director of the Modesto-based nonprofit AgSafe, said there are 1,200 FLCs in California — many of them third-party businesses linking seasonal workers and growers — that are required to undergo an annual licensing process.
“These are not dodgy guys running around in vans. I wouldn’t consider them sinister,” Wolfe said, keen to neutralize any negative connotations in referring to “middlemen” contractors or farm workers being “exempt” from the federal eight-hour workday.
“They are established businessmen and -women,” she said of FLCs. “It isn’t quite the seedy underbelly that it is often portrayed as.”
Wolfe said there is no exact figure for the number of seasonal and permanent agriculture laborers in the state but that rough estimates gauge the population at 500,000 to 650,000 workers.
AgSafe also will host FLC workshops Oct. 19 in Tulare and Dec. 7 in Fresno. The cost for the May 14 session is $225 to $250. For more information visit AgSafe online.